Home » News » Search is on 2017 Offaly Person of the Year

Search is on 2017 Offaly Person of the Year

18th October 2017

THE Bridge House Hotel, Tullamore was the venue for the launch of the 30th Offaly Association (Dublin) Person of the Year on Wednesday last.

The launch was performed by the leas-cathaoirleach of Offaly County Council Cllr. John Clendennen.

Master of Ceremonies for the occasion, selection committee PRO Ger Scully welcomed all to the launch.

He had a special word of welcome for former winners of the award who were present - Philip Brady, Maura Allen, John Horan and Matt Connor.

Also present was Anna Marie Delaney Chief Executive officer of Offaly County Council and Clle Declan Harvey, cathaoirleach of Tullamore Municipal District

Apologies for not being able to attend the launch were received from 2016 winner Pat Smullen and sponsor of the award Mr. Noel Tynan, the Celtic Lodge and Le Bon Crubeen Restaurant, Talbot Street, Dublin.

“The presentation function last year was a huge success and we are looking forward to another wonderful night in April 2018 when the 2017 Offaly Person of the Year is presented with the award,” said Mr. Scully.

Selection committee chairman Mr. Liam Fleury told those present that the Offaly Person of the Year award was established in 1988 and has been going strong ever since and the 2017 winner will be the 30th winner of the title.

People can be nominated for academic, sport, cultural business and civic achievements

“I am delighted to see so many former winners here tonight. I would ask all readers of the local newspapers in Offaly to fill in the nomination coupons that will be appearing in the local press over the coming weeks.

“The closing date for the reciept of nominations will be Friday, 26 January 2018and all nominations have to be sent to committee secretary, Ms. Connie Hanniffy, Doon, Ballinahown and the award will be presented at a gala function here in the Bridge House Hotel, Tullamore on Saturday, 7 April, 2018.

“The awards night has received huge support since it was brought down here to Offaly. I would like to thank the management and staff of the Bridge House Hotel for the wonderful job they have done in hosting the event over the last number of years.

“I would also like to thank Mr. Noel Tynan of Le Bon Crubeen, the award-winning restaurant in Dublin, for his ongoing sponsorship of the award. Thanks are also extended to my fellow selection committee members and to the local media for the coverage they give to the event every year.

“My fellow committee members are Connie Hanniffy, Pat Teehan, Ann Carey, Noel McCann, Peter Carter and Ger Scully who at all times face the difficult task of selecting the Offaly Person of the Year,” said Mr. Fleury who in turn was praised for his work as selection committee chairperson by Ger Scully.

Ger praised Liam for his diligent and professional work as chairperson of the selection committee.

When launching the search for the 2017 Offaly Person of the Year, leas-cathaopirleach of Offaly County Council Cllr. John Clendennen said. "this is a huge opportunity for the people of Offaly to nominate for the award people who stand out in their own in community be it in sport, cultural, music etc.

"It is an honour for me to be here this evening and I would like to thank the committee for inviting me to launch the search for the 2017 Offaly Person of the Year.

"It is an exciting time over the winter months when the people of Offaly have the opportunity to nominate who they think would be a worthy recipient of this prestigious award.

"On my own behalf and the Chief Executive Officer of Offaly County Council, Anna Marie Delaney wish you all continued success in the years ahead."

The Roll of Honour of past winners of the award is as follows: 1988 - John Dowling RIP, 1989 - Fr Tom Scully, 1990 - Eddie Joe Dooley RIP, 1991 - Paddy Larkin RIP, 1992 - Brian Cowen, 1993 - Michael Byrne, 1994 - Jane Feehan, 1995 - James Nolan, 1996 - Kieran Keenaghan, 1997 - Br Denis Minehane, 1998 - Tom Parlon, 1999 - Matt Connor, 2000 - Brian Whelahan, 2001 - Dr Philip Brady, 2002 - Maura Allen and John Horan, 2003 - Seamus Carroll, 2004 - Miriam O'Callaghan, 2005 - Tom and Paul Mangan, 2006 - Sr Oliver Wrafter, 2007 - Stephen Grant, 2008 - Fleadh Cheoil na hEireann Organising Committee (Attracta Brady, Karen O'Grady, Tom Bourke, Mary Berry-O'Connell and Louise O'Dwyer), 2009 - Shane Lowry, 2010 - Darren Hanniffy and Ronan Scully, 2011 - Paddy Fenning, 2012 - Cleary Brothers, 2013 - Sean Norman, 2014 - John Grennan, 2015 - Pauline Curley, 2016 - Pat Smullen.

Tullamore & District ChamberUnit 2A - Second Level, Bridge Centre, Tullamore, Offaly, Ireland    E-mail: info@tullamorechamber.com
Copyright © 2024 Tullamore & District Chamber